A Poet I Will Never Be

I’ve admired famous poets for years. Mostly the way they cram a full story into a few lines. After I retired, I dabbled in themed Haiku, a novice trying to create a masterpiece in three lines with a 5-7-5 syllable pattern. Several of my contest entries were published in newspapers in the San Francisco East Bay Area. The theme for this February 2010 entry was Super Bowl Snacks Poetry in Motion.

 

Guacamole dip

Fritos and buffalo wings

Soothes pain of losing.

~Violet Carr Moore

 

My Haiku have appeared in Northern California anthologies, but my writing strengths are short stories, inspirational/spiritual, and memoir.

I was inspired when I heard Dana Gioia (pronounced joy-a), a modern poet, speak at a conference a few years ago. Gioia was the California Poet Laureate (2015) and the Chair of the National Endowment of the Arts (2003-2009). He received many national awards that propelled him to the top of speaker lists. His words reach writers of all genres, not just poets. Perhaps Gioia’s encouragement at that workshop was what prompted me to be one of the first to register to hear him speak at the Tri-Valley Writers Zoom meeting on Saturday, March 20, 2021. This is a free event, open worldwide to individuals who register by the deadline.

I hope Dana will have some wise words for writers like me who need a dose of inspiration to finish an ongoing project. Perhaps his presentation will resonate with you too. Click here to read about the event and register.

 

1 Comment

Filed under Events, Memoir, Publishing, Writing

One response to “A Poet I Will Never Be

  1. Julaina Kleist-Corwin

    It took me most of Sunday to write my part for a collaborative poem. I had the ending to do and tying up what the other two people wrote. We aren’t poets, but it was fun to do and turned out well. It was to honor our mentor.

Leave a comment