Embellishments-Fact or Fiction, Act Two

In “Embellishments, Fact or Fiction?” my previous blog about writing memoirs, I asked this question:

 If you were reading the story about surprise twins, the last of nine children, which quote you would attribute to our father, whether true, false, or embellished?

  1.  “We’ll make do.”
  2. “Two more mouths to feed.”
  3. “The Lord will provide.”

 

Congratulations to Lani Longshore who replied, “A blunt and practical man would say, “Two more mouths to feed.” Not only did Lani choose the right answer, her “blunt” and “practical” description of my father was tailor-made for him.

 

I’m told that when my mother insisted a few years later that growing twins couldn’t sleep on quilt pallets any more but needed a real bed, my father’s replied “Make do until the Lord provides.”

Growth arrows

The first bed I remember sleeping in had a tall headboard―at least it looked tall to me measuring by my 46 inches from the floor to the top of my head.  The matching footboard was shorter; both with iron tubing swirled into a pattern, decorative knops from side to side, slathered with dark green enamel paint. Unpainted steel rails extended down each side and created a framework for slats of wood laid crosswise that held the mattress in place. The three-quarter size mattress with striped ticking cover was lumpy, but it looked good covered with white sheets and one of Mama’s handmade quilts. We were delighted to have our own bed.

QuestionWe must have slept in somebody’s bed before the exciting day one of my brothers arrived with the bedstead pieces on a mattress roped to the top of his car, side railings protruding at an angle out the passenger window, and board slats peeking out of the partially open, tied-down trunk. He reassembled the bed in the room my twin and I shared with our older sister. I slept in that bed with my twin until our teen years when we outgrew it and had to upgrade to a full-size bed.

This is a true story, a bare-facts memoir without embellishments. At least, that’s the way I remember it.

 

 Violet Carr Moore, author and editor, helps writers attain their publication dreams.
Along the way, she weaves her legacy with pearls of wisdom and mystic moments.
Leave a comment

Filed under Blogging, Events, Reading, Writing

Leave a Reply

