Missing fairy godmother

Fairy Thursday, May 23, 2013, 11:25 p.m. Pacific Standard Time

Cinderella had it easy. Her major chore was cleaning the fireplace the day before the grand ball.  On the eve of Creative Fiction Writing class finals, this nontraditional student has hours of projects to complete before tomorrow, the beginning of Memorial Day weekend.

Cinderella’s fairy godmother dressed her, coiffed her tresses, and nodded her approval at the final result. I donned my Hilo Hattie muumuu this morning and twisted my hair into a clip on top of my head.

Cinderella left the ball too late and plunged back into her servant rags. Now, approaching the midnight hour, I’m dressed in pajamas as I choose to postpone the last college assignment and write this blog.

Where is my fairy godmother when I need her?

6 Comments

Filed under Nontraditional student, Writing

6 responses to “Missing fairy godmother

  1. Wouldn’t it be easy if we all had fairy godmothers to grant our every wish. I don’t know about making a pumpkin carriage, but I sure wouldn’t mind a pizza pie whenever I wanted 🙂 Best of luck with your assignments and I’m sure you’ll do great.

    • I substituted my car in absence of the pumpkin carriage, but there was an end-of-semester celebration with pizza pie, cupcakes and brownies. Maybe the fairy godmother was a little behind schedule.

  2. Hysterical. I’m sure you’ll come out at the top of your class. I’m also sure your imagination, wit, and fresh perspective made it a memorable class for all of the attendees.

  3. Given that this is the end of the school year, I suspect ALL the fairy godmothers are hiding out at the Potted Pixie tavern until graduation day.

Leave a Reply

