Typo tips

Words

I’m a writer and a student. The two are so intertwined one would think either would recognize mistakes. Not so. It’s easy to overlook typos when my student or writer mode knows the intended text. My eyes disconnect from my brain as I sail over misused words like an/and, at/ate, wit/with or with/width, us for U.S. Why? Not because there’s no red underline in my Word document, but because I understand what I’m reading.

For students, authors and others whose work has been thwarted by a typo, the old saying “Don’t cry over spilt milk” doesn’t apply. “If at first you don’t succeed, try again” is more appropriate. To escape the clichés, click the link below. These public gaffes will lighten your spirits or make you roll with laughter.

Major typos

6 Comments

Filed under Nontraditional student, Reading, Writing

6 responses to “Typo tips

  1. I never fail to marvel at how I can, over and over, read the mistakes I make and see them the way they should be rather than how they are! I loved the typo about adultery. So, now we know.

    • Julie, as a Bible teacher, I’ve often wondered if “shalt” instead of “shalt not” in that edition was intentional mischief. Whichever, it’s history that can’t be reversed. It makes me grateful for the edit and update feature in my blogs.

  2. Lani Longshore

    Oh, my, what a giggle! I do feel better about myself now, if only because I’m not the only one.

  3. LOL! I get where you’re coming from about not seeing typos and other mistakes when I proof my own paper! Our eyes do often read what we expect it to say, not what it actually says. I remember an instructor talking aobut how our eyes work. He said we can overlook something, such as our keys on our desk, because our eyes know they are not supposed to be in that place, so they don’t see them. It’s like if our eyes are accustomed to looking at something repeatedly, sometimes they don’t pick up what’s different and sometimes they do! Still, I gotta love the “pubic school!”

Leave a Reply

