The wait

    I crossed the NaNo 50,000-word finish line on November 15—halfway day. Sore fingers and brain dead, that push took the wind out of my sails. A cliché, I know, but it’s the best way to describe the limbo (or could it be purgatory?) where I abandoned my characters.
    Retired Judge Jeremiah Willoughby waits for me to form the words that let Taylor, his biological daughter, know that his home, the Rocking-W Ranch, has sold to an investor.
    Tony Fernando, jewelry store owner in Old Town Scottsdale, Arizona waits for me to clear him as the Number One (Numero Uno) suspect.
    Marc Jameson, Maricopa County Sheriff, stands by while Taylor Madrid, private investigator, former MCSO detective and good girl, waits for me to click keys pointing to the bad guy.
    Tom Longshore, grandfather of Angela, his deceased daughter’s child, stands in the Sacramento, California courthouse. He waits for me to add the keystrokes that open sealed adoption records for him to find Angela who is destined to die.
    While my characters wait, I sip tea and read a mystery novel.
4 Comments

Filed under Writing

4 responses to “The wait

  1. Lani Longshore

    Mazel tov!

  2. I crossed on the sixteenth. Haven’t been back to validate, still drinking coffee. Robin

Leave a Reply

