Profile is not a bad word

Words like profile, background and person of interest hint of mystery novels, crime reports, or media newscasts project negativity. But all is not shadows and gloom. These dark words can become rays of sunshine for writers. A profile can project the best of me, a writer, and make me a person of interest because of my background.

This silhouette is through the eyes of a Walt Disney World artist who scissored my image from a square of black paper on a hot summer day in Florida. My author’s profile captures a word image in much the same way, only it begins on a white computer screen with black text. It becomes a silhouette of words, a sketch of characteristic qualities.

As I carve my profile, I concentrate on my most recent writings, honors, and community involvement. I mention works-in-progress or upcoming author signings to let the reader know where I’m going, not just where I’ve been. I mention membership in writer’s groups that let the reader know I am a serious writer, not a wanna-be. I close with links to my blogs, websites and professional media sites like LinkedIn.

When my profile appears on the World Wide Web, it is nothing like the dark shadows of a mystery. It’s bright with hope.

1 Comment

Filed under Blogging, Writing

One response to “Profile is not a bad word

  1. I love the idea that you are carving your profile. Great analogy to the Disney cut out. Thanks for sharing this.

    Lynn
    http://www.writeradvice.com
    Author of You Want Me to Do WHAT? Journaling for Caregivers

Leave a Reply

